My Thoughts: When Creativity Becomes Your Business

This is something I’ve thought of before, but I was reminded of it while reading a chapter in The Everything Guide to Magazine Writing.

People who intend to sell their stories, paintings, jewelry, or who dance or sing for a living, have made a business out of their creativity.  It’s most certainly what I am trying to do.

What happens when you do that?  What happens to your creativity when you endeavor to sell the results?  Does it hamper it or increase it?

Another of my creative outlets is making jewelry/beadwork.  I have sold some pieces I’ve made, but I don’t push it as a business, despite encouragement to do so from several people.  Why not?

Making jewelry with the intent to sell it hampers my creativity.  It makes it more work than play, more formula than fun.  The best way for me to make my necklaces, bracelets, earrings, etc., is to do it when I want and how I want.  I love it when people want to buy the results, and I do sell pieces that way.  I’m not at a point, though, where I can consider it a business venture yet.

It’s different with my writing, perhaps because I’ve been writing since high school.  For a long time, I didn’t want anyone to know about it.  As I grew in my skills and became more confident in myself, I started putting myself out there.  My first publication was a poem (or was it two?) in the yearly anthology put out by the college I attended.  After that, I went back to keeping it to myself for a while.

Now, though?  I feel like I legitimately have something to say.  Intending for other people to read/buy my words does not hamper my creativity as the corresponding intent does for my jewelry.  Rather, the intent actually increases my creativity when it comes to writing.  I don’t know how or why it works that way, but if there’s one thing I’ve learned over time, it’s not to question it.  Questioning the how and why of creativity squashes it nearly out of existence.

At least, that is how it works for me.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cricketdiane
    Feb 06, 2008 @ 20:56:40

    I hope you’re wrong about that. If we do well and prosper because of our creativity and creative pursuits, I sure hope our creativity blossoms. For me, sometimes it does.

    It certainly feels better when the business of it works and does well. Ideas flow that I would’ve never even approached otherwise.

    Reply

  2. Jen
    Feb 07, 2008 @ 19:54:52

    How/why creativity works is a completely individual process. All I was saying is that’s how it is *for me.* I certainly hope it works better for others! *s*

    Reply

  3. marty mc'clure
    Feb 09, 2008 @ 20:26:01

    WHAT THE CATERPILLAR CALLS THE END OF THE WORLD, GOD CALLS A BUTTERFLY
    If you always think the way you’ve always thought, you’ll always get what you always got. The same old, same old ideas over and over again. The future belongs to those thinkers who embrace change, break new ground, forge new paths, and transform the way they think. Discover how to look at the same information as everyone else and see something different by using the creative thinking techniques and strategies that creative geniuses have used throughout history.
    Internationally acclaimed creativity expert Michael Michalko’s Thinkertoys: A Handbook of Creative Thinking Techniques have inspired business thinkers around the world to create the innovative ideas and creative strategies they need to achieve unimaginable success in today’s changing business environment of complexity and uncertainty. Change the way you look at things and the things you look at change.

    [Available at http://www.amazon.com, Barnes & Noble, and most major bookstores. Visit http://www.creativethinking.net for more detailed information.]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

