My Thoughts: Comfort

Yesterday I mentioned that we need to stretch our creativity and get out of our comfort zones.  I didn’t get into this part of it then because the Tuesday Tip isn’t the place for it, but I’m as guilty as anyone for not stretching.

I get comfortable in what I’m doing.  I want to improve.  I want to be a better writer, beader, and creative in general.  Am I willing to do what it takes to get there?

Sometimes.

When I started writing, I wrote poems and only poems.  Some were good.  Some were horrible.  I was proud of them all.  Eventually, I moved on to short stories, then novels, especially fantasy.  Even that has evolved as now I’m working on romance.  But it’s evolved even more since I’m working on nonfiction articles and a book.

The book is where I am stretching the most.  It’s the most uncomfortable because while it uses familiar techniques and things I know how to do, it presents them in a different way than I’m accustomed to doing.  I have to figure out how to present the information so it’s both palatable and useful.  I don’t know if I’m succeeding in that or not.  Only time will tell.

When I start whining about how I don’t want to do this-and-such, somebody needs to tell me to shut up and stretch whether it’s comfortable or not.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Beaders roundup » Blog Archive » Quick scan of the net - beader

Leave a Reply

