Waiting for Inspiration

“You can’t wait for inspiration. You have to go after it with a club.” ~Jack London

Do you wait until you are inspired before you start to create? Why? Does it work for you? Do you get very much creative work done?

I used to wait to be inspired. I said my muse was fickle. Well… She isn’t. She needs a schedule. A routine. When I set a routine of consciously creating every day, she shows up and we work wonderfully together.

A routine doesn’t have to be a rigorous schedule. I daresay my muse would go on strike if I tried that. Some semblance of routine, such as sitting down to write after dinner, lets the muse know you’re ready for her and she won’t keep you waiting.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Tweets that mention Waiting for Inspiration « The Idea Pocket -- Topsy.com
  2. gerald
    Sep 02, 2010 @ 09:21:57

    I prepare myself for inspiration by being creative and aware. I think the act of doing something opens me up to creativity more than ever. Hand me a blank page and I’m frozen. Hand me a page that has a smudge on it and I’m inspired to do something with it.

    Reply

    • Jen Nipps
      Sep 02, 2010 @ 09:31:57

      You’re right. Creating begets creating. Something already there, whether an accidental smudge or an intentional line, takes away the anxiety facing a blank screen/page/canvas can cause.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

